Kashmir Saivaism (Shaivism)

Kashmir Saivaism (Shaivism)

FREE Delivery
Ships in 1-3 days
Item Code: IDF405
Author: J. C. Chatterji
Publisher: Parimal Publication Pvt. Ltd.
Language: English
Edition: 2004
ISBN: 8171100171
Pages: 170
Cover: Hardcover
Other Details: 8.8" X 5.8"
Weight 330 gm

From the Jacket:

J. C. Chatteji's Kashmir Saivaism is an important and unique treatise on Saiva Philosophy that prevailed in Kashmir and still practised in different parts of India. The beginnings of 'Kashmir Saivaism' could be traced from Siva Sutras and its commentary by Ksemaraja. Its teachings and practices are given, in the literature of the system, the distinctive name of Trika-sasana, Trika-Sastra or simply Trika; and are often referred to as the Rahasya-Sampradaya, while Saivaism in general is spoken of as Siva-Sasana or Sivagama. The peculiarity of the Trika consists in the fact that, as a system of philosophy, it is a type of idealistic monism (advaita), and as such differs in of Saiva Philosophy, for instance, from what is described under the name of the Saiva Darsana in the Sarva-Darsana-Sangraha of Madhavacarya.
This book provides an insight of the form of Saivaism developed in Kashmir starting from its History. The entire book in divided into two parts-1) Kashmir Saivaism's History and Literature, 2) The Main Doctrines of the System. The book also works as a basis for comparative study of various forms of Saivaism.


  Part I  
  History and Literature 1-40
  Part II  
  The main doctrines of the system 47-170
  The Atman 47
  The Process of Manifestation 59
  The Transcendent Parama Siva 67
  A. The Universal Experience  
  I. Five Principles of the Universal Subject-Object  
1. The Siva Tattva 68
2. The Sakti Tattva 69
3. The Sadakhya Tattva 71
4. The Aisvara Tattva 75
5. The Sad-Vidya 77
  B. The Limited Individual Experience  
  II. Maya and her progeny  
6-11. The six Kancukas 81
  III. Two Principles of the limited individual subject-object  
12. The Purusa 89
13. The Prakrti and the Gunas 93
  IV. Principles of mental Operation  
14-16. Buddhi, Ahankara and Manas 98
17-31. The five senses, five powers of action and five general objects of sense perception. 122
32-36. The Five Bhutas 133

Sample Pages

Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy