Filter by Publisher
More Publishers
Filter by Author
More Authors

Bhakti Yoga: The yoga of love and respect

The Sanskrit word bhakti comes from the root bhaj, which signifies "to revere or love God." Bhakti yoga has been classified as "love for sake of love" and "association through affection and commitment." Bhakti yoga, similar to some other types of yoga, is a way of self-acknowledgement, to have an encounter of unity with everything. In Hinduism, Bhakti yoga is the otherworldly practice that is focused on cherishing commitment. One of the three spiritual ways leads to Moksha (also known as salvation) in Hinduism. All you need to do is to embrace Bhakti Yoga with an open, cherishing heart. The act of Bhakti yoga spins around adoration and love. One can embrace Bhakti Yoga through meditation, religious chanting, or through the projection of unrestricted love to all of creation. Bhakti is the yoga of an individual relationship with God as said by musician Jai Uttal, who learned the art of Bhakti Yoga from his master, the late Neem Karoli Baba. 

Mantras are often in Sanskrit or Hindi, but there aren’t set or defined rules. When the mantras are repeated, they often form a melody.

Here are some mantras to consider chanting:

  • Namaste: If one has taken a yoga class, one has probably said “namaste” before. It roughly translates to the “light within me salutes the light within you.”

  • Om Namah Shivaya: “I bow to the Self.”

  • Lokah Samastah Sukino Bhavantu: “May all beings everywhere be happy and free.”


Q1. What are the nine principles of Bhakti Yoga?

The Bhakti-rasamrta-sindhu, the consecrated Hindu text composed by instructor artist thinker Rupa Gosvami, frames nine fundamentals of Bhakti yoga.

1. Svarana (listening)

Sarana includes paying attention to old sacred writings, sonnets, or stories, particularly those told by a Saint (otherwise known as Bhakta). It isn't done solo and requires an individual to join other devotees. 

2. Kirtana (singing)

Kirtana alludes to the singing or reciting of the Divine's commendations. This is where that multitude of mantras prove to be useful.

3. Smarana (recollecting)

Smarana implies recollecting the Divine consistently. Any place you are, rehearsing Bhakti implies keeping heavenly nature extremely important to you.

4. Padasevana (administration)

Padasevana includes communicating love toward the Divine through help. This could include chipping in, helping somebody out of luck, or even just developing a feeling of cherishing thoughtfulness and selfless service toward those in your life.

5. Archana (ritual)

Archana includes revering the Divine through pictures, divine beings, or symbols to refine the heart through adoration. In Hinduism, regularly revered gods incorporate Ganesha, Krishna, Shiva, Parvati, Durga, and Surya.

6. Vandana (prayer)

Vandana alludes to prayer and surrender (that implies lying on the ground outstretched). By praying, Bhakti expects to restrict narcissism and conceit to associate with the entirety.

7. Dasya (unquestioning)

Dasya includes serving the will over the Divine rather than your own ego. At the point when you pay attention to the Divine without uncertainty, dread, or questioning, it drives you to the subsequent step.

8. Sakhya (companionship)

Sakhya includes developing companionship toward the Divine. Whether you see the Divine in divinities or regardless, it implies being BFFs with everyone who exists.

9. Atmanivedana (self-offering)

Atmanivedana implies absolute acquiescence of the self to the Divine idea, everything being equal.

Q2. How does one practice Bhakti Yoga?

Bhakti includes focusing your psyche, feelings, and faculties on the Divine. The point is to converge with the truth of heavenly love. Generally, the centre acts of Bhakti include:

  • Kirtan: meditational chanting

  • Japa: repeating the mantras

  • Dedication to the Divine: showering unconditional love on all living beings

While customary Bhakti yoga frequently includes focusing on divinities to achieve this caring state, numerous contemporary heads of Bhakti urge experts to zero in on the Divine in any structure they pick.