Vedas: Sama, Yajur, Rig, Atharva (Set of 2 DVDs)

Item Code: IDA082
Dimensions Times Music (2011)
This special pack of 2 DVD's features the complete Vedas in Sanskrit chanted by priests from Karnataka and Varanasi with prescribed pronuciation and enunciation as recommended for Veda reciation. It also contains a verse-by-verse translation of the 4 Vedas - Rig Veda, Sama Veda, yajur Veda & Atharva Veda in English and Hindi for comprehensive understanding and incorporation in everyday life of man.

About the DVD

The Vedas are considered the earliest literary record of Indo-Aryan civilization and the most sacred books of India. They are the original scriptures of Hindu teachings and contain spiritual knowledge encompassing all aspects of our life. Vedic literature with its philosophical maxims has stood the test of time and is the highest religious authority for all sections of Hindus in particular and for mankind in general Veda means wisdom knowledge or vision and it manifests the language of the gods in Human speech. The laws of the Vedas regulate the social legal, domestic and religious customs of the Hindus to the present day. All the obligatory duties of the Hindus at birth marriage and death over their allegiance to the Vedic ritual. They draw forth the thought of successive generation of thinkers and so contain within them the different strata of thought. The Vedas are probably the earliest documents of the human mind and it is indeed difficult to say when the earliest portions of the Vedas came into existence. As the ancient Hindus seldom kept any historical record of their religious literary and political realization it is difficult to determine the period of the Vedas with precision. Historians provide us many guesses but none of them are free from ambiguity. It is believed that humans did not compose the Vedas. They were handed down through generations by word of mouth. The general assumption is that the Vedic hymns were either taught by Gods to the sages or that they revealed themselves to the sages who were the seers on mantradrasta of the hymns. The Vedas were mainly compiled by Vyasa Krishna Dwaipayana around the time of Lord Krishna (C. 1500 B.C) The Vedas have been classified in four. The Rig-Veda the Sama Veda the Yajur Veda and the Atharva Veda of these the most important is the Rig Veda. The Four Vedas are collectively known as Chathurveda of which the first three Vedas viz, Rig, Veda Sama Veda and Yajur Veda agree in form language and content. Each Veda consists of Four parts the Samhitas (Hymns) the Brahmanas (Rituals), the Aranyakas (Theologies) and the Upanishads (Philosophies). The collection of mantras or hymns is called the Samhita. The Brahmanas are ritualistic texts and include precepts and religious duties. Each Veda has several Brahmanas attached to it. The Upanishad form the concluding portions of the Veda are therefore called the Vedanta or the end of the Veda and contain the essence of Vedic teachings.

1. Introduction
2. Rig Veda
3. Atharva Veda
4. Yajur Veda
5. Sama Veda

1. Introduction
2. Sama Veda
3. Sama Veda (Ranayaniya Shakha)
4. Shukla Yajur Veda
5. Krishna Yajur Veda

Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy