Look Inside
Guldasta D.T. Joshi and his Compositions

Guldasta D.T. Joshi and his Compositions

$43  (25% off)
FREE Delivery
Ships in 1-3 days
Item Code: NAU580
Author: Padmabhushan Pt. Debu Chaudhuri
Publisher: Sanjay Prakashan
Language: English
Edition: 2017
ISBN: 9788174532770
Pages: 123
Other Details: 10.00 X 7.50 inch
Weight 480 gm
About The Author

Prof. Dhruva Tara Joshi, popularly own as "Joshi ji" was not only a dined musician of class but also a seasoned composer. He had a vast Knowledge of Urdu, Hindi, English and Bengali language. His love for music and passion for language helped him to understand the Philosophy of Music. He has a great Sitar player of his time and gave a number of brilliant concerts all over India but unfortunately his physical problem forced him to stop playing Sitar. So Joshi ji condentrated more on composing and teaching music. That is why he composed not only Khayal, Dhrupad, Ghazals in Urdu language but also composed many famous instrumental basdish. During one of his rare visits to Delhi, Joshi ji left his manuscripts with the author and requested him to publish his life time achievement. There are about 94 Vocal compositions in this publication selected from his manuscript which include Khayl, Drupad and some instrumental compositions. Many of these compositions are sung by the present performers as they have been accepted as the creation of Master Composer. He was a Guru in its truest sense ans taught many students who are no more today and some of them are renowed musicians of the day. His pen name (takhallos) as a composer in hindi was trem Rang and in Urdu language it was "Junu Lucknowee". He was also a great composer of Vcal Classical Music and some of his instrumental compositions have also been included in the last chapter just to show his vast repertoire and command on the subject. He was a great persomality, a great artiste and become friendly to anyone, who had the fortune of coming close to him. As a Person and as a human being he had no parallel in the field of music. The book is a testimony of joshi ji's" great creations and the permormers and students of music of all the time to come will be immensely benefited from this invaluable publication.


Dhrubatara joshi, known to music fraternity as "Dhrubada" was with Lucknow Radio Station when I first met him. It was in the year 1943, when I joined Music College of Hindustani Music to learn North Indian Classical Music at the behest of my father who was a friend and admirer of Shri Shrikrishna Narayan Ratanjankar, Principal of the Music College. My association with Joshiji did not end at Lucknow but continued in Delhi when I joined Delhi Radio Station as Director of Music in 1953. At that time Joshiji was also working with Radio All India. It is for more than sixty years that I have closely known Prof. D.T. joshi -as an erudite musician and a multifaceted genius. He was a highly trained musician disciplined by and trained under the great Sitar Maestro Ustad Inayat Khan. By nature, he was of a most gentle disposition when because of some handicap in his handling of the Sitar, his career as a performing Sitarist had to be given up. He turned to vocal Music, and with his creative talent, composed several hundreds of beautiful compositions suitable for rendering with aplomb and efficient singing. Old lovers of music still remember his National Programme in the 1950's in which he had played raga 'Puria Kalyan'. He was highly respected in the music world. His ninety-seven Vocal composition and instrumental are now collected for publication by the unstinting effort of Pandit Debu Chaudhuri, chief disciple of the Great Senia Sitar legend Ustad Mushtaq Ali Khan, who together with the great Sarod Maestro Pandit Radhika Mohan Moitra and Prof. D.T. Joshi formed inseparable musical fraternity well known to all in those times. I am very happy that at last due to the painstaking effort of Pandit Debu Chaudhuri, the works of Joshiji are seeing the light of the day. I am sure that the publication of the works will benefit all serious lovers and students of Indian Classical Music.

**Contents and Sample Pages**

Add a review
Have A Question

For privacy concerns, please view our Privacy Policy